Looking for free AI courses with certificate options that are actually free at the final step? This guide checks the real cost of every certificate, badge and exam, so you know exactly what you will pay before you spend a single evening studying.
Quick Answer: The best free AI courses with certificate in 2026 are Elements of AI, Google's generative AI badges on Google Skills, IBM SkillsBuild Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals, India's YUVA AI for All, OpenAI Academy, Kaggle Learn and Harvard's CS50 AI (free CS50 certificate after all projects). NPTEL is free to learn but charges Rs 1,000 for the certificate exam.
Many courses are free to watch but ask for payment at the last screen, and some platforms changed their rules in 2025. Whether you searched for a free AI certification, a free AI course with certificate, an AI certification course free of charge or an artificial intelligence certification free of cost, the list below only includes options where the cost of the certificate is stated by the provider.
Key Facts About Free AI Courses with Certificate
- At least eight reputable AI courses give a certificate, badge or credential at no cost in October 2026.
- Coursera ended free audit on 8 August 2025; most courses now show only the first module free.
- Google AI Essentials, AI for Everyone and DeepLearning.AI certificates are paid.
- Industry certifications such as AWS Certified AI Practitioner (USD 100) have free prep but a paid exam.
- A free certificate proves you finished a course; employers still look for projects you can explain.
If you are still choosing a learning path rather than a certificate, start with our pillar guide to the best free AI courses online.
Certificate vs Badge vs Certification vs Credential: What You Actually Get
These four words are used loosely, and the difference matters on a CV.
- Certificate of completion: proof that you finished a course. It shows effort and exposure, not that an independent body tested you. Elements of AI, Kaggle Learn and the SimpliAxis free course issue this type.
- Digital badge: a small, verifiable image linked to a record of what you did, usually hosted on a platform such as Credly. Google Skills and IBM SkillsBuild issue badges.
- Certification: a credential earned by passing a proctored exam set by a vendor or professional body, often with an expiry date. AWS Certified AI Practitioner and Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901) are certifications. These almost always have an exam fee.
- Credential: the umbrella term for all of the above.
A useful rule: if there is no proctored exam, it is a certificate or badge, not a certification. Recruiters spot inflated labels quickly.
Free AI Courses With Certificate: The Verified Comparison Table
Costs were checked against provider pages in October 2026. Fees and policies change, so confirm on the enrolment page before you start.
| Course | Provider | Credential type | Exact certificate cost | Time | Coding needed? |
| Elements of AI | University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn | Certificate of completion | Free | Self-paced, six chapters | No |
| Generative AI Fundamentals skill badge | Google (Google Skills) | Skill badge | Free (described as no cost by Google) | As little as 120 minutes | No |
| Prompt Design in Agent Platform skill badge | Google (Google Skills) | Skill badge | Not stated on course page | About 1 hour plus challenge lab | Light, console-based |
| Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals | IBM SkillsBuild | Credly digital badge | Free | Self-paced | No |
| YUVA AI for All | IndiaAI Mission, Government of India | Government of India certificate | Free | About 4.5 hours | No |
| OpenAI Academy pathways | OpenAI | Badges and certificate of completion | Free | 30 to 180 minutes per course | Depends on pathway |
| Kaggle Learn (Intro to Machine Learning and others) | Kaggle | Certificate of completion | Free | About 3 hours for Intro to ML | Yes (Python) |
| CS50's Introduction to AI with Python | Harvard University | Free CS50 certificate or paid edX verified certificate | Free via Harvard OCW, or USD 299 on edX | 7 weeks at 10 to 30 hours a week | Yes (Python) |
| NPTEL AI and ML courses | IITs and IISc via SWAYAM | E-verifiable certificate | Rs 1,000 exam (Rs 500 SC/ST or PwD, Rs 250 if both) | Usually 4, 8 or 12 weeks | Usually yes |
| Building AI | University of Helsinki and Reaktor | Certificate of completion | Course free, certificate must be purchased | About 50 hours | Yes (Python) |
| AWS Certified AI Practitioner | Amazon Web Services | Certification | Free prep, exam USD 100 | 90-minute exam | No |
| Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901) | Microsoft | Certification | Exam priced by country | Self-study plus exam | No |
| SimpliAxis free course | SimpliAxis | Digital completion certificate | Free with a free account | Self-paced | No |
For a deeper look at how Google, Coursera, Microsoft and IBM stack up against each other on cost and depth, read our Google, Coursera, Microsoft and IBM free AI courses compared guide.
The Best Free AI Certification Courses, Option by Option
Each section covers what you learn, how to earn the certificate step by step, how long it takes, who it suits and where to enrol.
1. Elements of AI: Best Artificial Intelligence Free Course With Certificate for Non-Coders
Elements of AI was created by the University of Helsinki with MinnaLearn and has attracted over 1.8 million sign-ups from more than 170 countries, with about 40% of learners being women. It needs no programming and no complicated maths, which makes it the most approachable artificial intelligence free course with certificate for students, managers and career switchers.
What you learn: six chapters: What is AI?, Solving problems with AI, Real world AI, Machine learning, Neural networks, and Implications of AI.
How to earn the certificate:
- Create a free account on the Elements of AI site.
- Work through the six chapters and complete the exercises in each.
- Once all exercises are done, download your certificate and share it on LinkedIn.
Time: fully self-paced.
Who it suits: anyone who wants to understand AI before picking a technical path. If you later want code, the free follow-up course, Building AI, uses Python across about 50 hours, but note that its certificate has to be purchased after completion.
2. Google Skills Badges: Best Free AI Certification From Google
Google Skills launched in October 2025 and now hosts the old Google Cloud Skills Boost catalogue, which is why older links redirect there. Its beginner generative AI courses still award free completion badges.
The Generative AI Fundamentals skill badge bundles three microlearning courses, which Google described as available at no cost and achievable in as little as 120 minutes:
- Introduction to Generative AI: about 45 minutes; what generative AI is, how it differs from traditional machine learning and which Google tools build generative AI apps.
- Introduction to Large Language Models: what LLMs are, their use cases and prompt tuning.
- Introduction to Responsible AI: about 15 minutes on what responsible AI is and Google's AI principles.
How to earn the badge:
- Sign in to Google Skills with a Google account.
- Complete each of the three courses; each one gives its own badge.
- Finish all three to receive the Generative AI Fundamentals skill badge, then share it from your profile.
Next level: Prompt Design in Agent Platform (formerly Prompt Design in Vertex AI, renamed after Google rebranded Vertex AI in April 2026) is a 1-hour introductory course with hands-on labs covering prompt engineering, image analysis and multimodal techniques with Gemini. A challenge lab is the faster route to its skill badge. It is not part of the Generative AI Fundamentals badge, and the course page does not state whether learning credits apply, so check before you start. Google Skills also lets you request 150 free learning credits.
Who it suits: beginners who want a recognisable Google credential within a weekend. This is not Google AI Essentials, which is a separate paid certificate on Coursera.
3. IBM SkillsBuild AI Fundamentals: Best Free AI Credential for Breadth
IBM's Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals credential is listed on Credly with a cost of free. It covers machine learning, deep learning, natural language processing, computer vision, chatbots, neural networks, AI ethics and IBM Watson Studio.
How to earn the badge:
- Register as a SkillsBuild user (the adult learner track).
- Complete the full IBM course set in the learning plan.
- Pass the graded quizzes and the final assessment.
- Complete the practice simulations.
- Accept the badge in Credly and share it to LinkedIn.
Time: self-paced. Credly labels the badge "Intermediate", but the content is conceptual and needs no coding, so motivated beginners manage it well.
Who it suits: students and freshers who want one free credential that touches every major branch of AI. A variant with a capstone project also exists.
4. YUVA AI for All: Best Free Online AI Course With Certificate From the Government of India
YUVA AI for All was launched by MeitY under the IndiaAI Mission in November 2025. It is a free, self-paced foundational course of about 4.5 hours of short modules, and completion earns an official Government of India certificate. For many Indian learners, it is the most practical free online AI course with certificate because it uses Indian examples and is offered in several Indian languages.
What you learn: AI foundations, the technology behind AI, using AI to learn, create and plan, AI ethics, and the future of AI, with Indian use cases in agriculture, health, governance, fintech and climate.
How to earn the certificate:
- Open the course on FutureSkills Prime (it is also hosted on iGOT Karmayogi and DIKSHA).
- Register with your details; there are no prerequisites.
- Complete all modules and the in-course checks.
- Download your Government of India certificate.
Who it suits: school and college students, teachers, government staff and anyone who wants a credible AI free certificate course in their own language. The January 2026 NeGD release lists 11 Indian languages, including Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, Bengali and Marathi.
We list more state-backed options, including SWAYAM, FutureSkills Prime and Skill India programmes, in our guide to free government courses with certificate.
5. OpenAI Academy: Free Certificate of Completion, Not a Certification
OpenAI Academy offers 14 free courses in four groups: applying AI at work (AI Foundations, Applied AI Foundations, Agents and Workflows), building with AI (including RAG, evaluation, agentic systems and Codex), leading AI adoption, and teaching and learning with AI (AI for Educators and AI for College Students).
How to earn the credential:
- Sign in with a ChatGPT account.
- Complete a course and pass its assessment with 80% or more to earn a badge.
- Complete a full pathway (Foundations, Codex or API) to earn a certificate of completion.
Time: individual courses take 30 to 180 minutes.
Important: OpenAI states that these certificates "are not certifications". List them on your CV as "Certificate of Completion, OpenAI Academy" and not as "OpenAI Certified".
Who it suits: daily ChatGPT users and developers exploring Codex or the API.
6. Kaggle Learn: Best Free Machine Learning Certificates With Real Code
Kaggle Learn offers short, free courses that run inside Kaggle notebooks on real datasets, and each one gives a named certificate on completion. Typical durations are about 5 hours for Python and about 3 hours for Intro to Machine Learning, with Pandas, Data Visualization and Data Cleaning at about 4 hours each.
How to earn the certificate:
- Create a free Kaggle account.
- Complete every lesson and its coding exercise in the notebook.
- Your certificate appears on your Kaggle profile with a shareable link.
Who it suits: learners who want proof that they can write working Python and train a first model.
7. Harvard CS50 AI: Best Free AI Certificate for Coders
CS50's Introduction to Artificial Intelligence with Python covers graph search, adversarial search, knowledge representation, logical inference, probability, Bayesian networks, Markov models, constraint satisfaction, optimisation, machine learning, reinforcement learning, neural networks and natural language processing. You build projects such as game engines, handwriting recognition and machine translation.
The two certificate routes:
- Free CS50 certificate: issued through Harvard OpenCourseWare to learners who complete all projects. You need a free GitHub account to submit projects and a free edX account for the quizzes.
- edX verified certificate: USD 299, issued by HarvardX.
How to earn the free certificate:
- Create free GitHub and edX accounts.
- Watch each lecture and submit every project until all are marked complete.
- Follow the certificate instructions in the course FAQ.
Time: about 7 weeks at 10 to 30 hours a week. Harvard recommends CS50x or prior Python experience first.
Who it suits: engineering students and developers aiming for AI roles. It is the hardest course on this list.
8. NPTEL on SWAYAM: Best Low-Cost AI Certificate From IIT and IISc Faculty
NPTEL courses in AI, machine learning and deep learning are taught by IIT and IISc faculty. Learning is free, but the certificate requires a proctored exam. A well-known example is Introduction to Machine Learning by Prof. Balaraman Ravindran of IIT Madras, which had 27,877 enrolments in its January to April 2022 run.
Exam fee: Rs 1,000 per course. SC/ST or PwD candidates pay Rs 500, and candidates who are both SC/ST and PwD pay Rs 250.
Pass rules: your final score is 25% assignments and 75% exam. To get a certificate you need an average assignment score of at least 10 out of 25, an exam score of at least 30 out of 75, and a final score of at least 40.
How to earn the certificate:
- Enrol free in the course on the NPTEL portal at the start of a semester.
- Submit the weekly assignments on time; they count towards your score.
- Register for the exam from your "My Courses" dashboard, uploading a photo, signature, ID and any category proof.
- Choose an exam centre and date, then pay the fee online.
- Sit the exam and download your e-verifiable certificate. Hard copies are not issued.
High scorers receive Elite, Elite plus Silver or Elite plus Gold certificates, and the top performers receive Topper certificates. Many universities accept NPTEL credits: UGC regulations allow up to 40% of a semester's courses through SWAYAM.
Who it suits: engineering and science students who want an IIT-backed certificate that can count for academic credit.
9. AWS Certified AI Practitioner: Free Prep, USD 100 Exam
The AWS Certified AI Practitioner is a real certification, not a course certificate. The exam costs USD 100, lasts 90 minutes, has 65 questions and stays valid for 3 years.
How to prepare for free and earn it:
- Open the free Exam Prep Plan on AWS Skill Builder, which includes free AI foundational training.
- Use the official practice question set and pretest to find weak areas.
- Book the exam when you consistently pass practice questions.
- Pass the exam to receive the certification and its digital badge.
Who it suits: cloud, support and business professionals who work with AWS or want a vendor certification.
10. Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901)
Microsoft retired the AI-900 exam on 30 June 2026 and replaced it with AI-901, Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals. The English version was updated on 15 April 2026 and assesses two areas: identifying AI concepts and capabilities, and implementing AI solutions with Microsoft Foundry.
Cost: the exam fee depends on the country where it is proctored; Microsoft does not publish a single global price. Microsoft Learn content is free, and a free practice assessment is available. In June 2026, Microsoft's free AI Skills Fest gave participants who finished a learning playlist a free certification exam voucher, so watch for similar events.
How to earn it:
- Sign in to Microsoft Learn with a personal Microsoft account, as Microsoft recommends.
- Take the free practice assessment to check your level.
- Study the topics listed on the certification page (dedicated learning paths were not yet listed there in October 2026).
- Schedule and pass the AI-901 exam.
Who it suits: professionals in Microsoft-heavy workplaces.
11. SimpliAxis Free Course: Free Digital Completion Certificate
SimpliAxis offers free self-paced courses with a digital completion certificate after you create a free account. You learn on desktop or mobile, at your own pace, and can switch to a trainer-led version later if you want live guidance.
How to earn the certificate:
- Visit the SimpliAxis free course page and create a free account.
- Choose a course and complete it at your own pace.
- Download your digital completion certificate.
Courses That Look Free but the Certificate Is Paid
These are excellent courses. Just know what you are paying for before you start.
| Course or platform | What is free | What is paid |
| Coursera (all courses) | First module of nearly every course since the 8 August 2025 change | Full course and certificate; India pricing from Rs 1,699 a month for Specializations, Coursera Plus Rs 2,099 a month or Rs 13,999 a year (September 2025 figures) |
| Google AI Essentials (Coursera) | 7-day free trial | USD 49 a month in the US and Canada after the trial; prices vary by country |
| Google Prompting Essentials (Coursera) | 7-day free trial | USD 49 a month in the US and Canada after the trial |
| AI for Everyone (DeepLearning.AI) | Course videos | Certificate: USD 49 for 180 days of certificate eligibility on Coursera, or via DeepLearning.AI Pro |
| DeepLearning.AI short courses | Watching videos as a free member | Quizzes, labs and certificates need Pro: USD 25 a month billed annually or USD 30 monthly |
| Machine Learning Specialization (Andrew Ng) | Preview content | Certificate via DeepLearning.AI Pro or per-course payment on Coursera |
| Udemy free courses | Short free video courses | No certificate, Q&A or instructor messaging on free courses; only paid enrolments include them |
| Building AI | Full course | Certificate must be purchased after completion |
| NPTEL | All lessons and assignments | Proctored exam (Rs 1,000) |
Coursera: according to Coursera's own announcement, the course preview model "replaces our audit experience". Older blogs that tell you to "audit for free" are now out of date. Eligible learners can still apply for financial aid, which covers full access and the certificate if approved.
Google AI Essentials: the Coursera listing is now a five-course Specialization, and its FAQ confirms it cannot be taken for free after the trial, though financial aid is available.
Udemy: Udemy Support states that free courses do not offer a certificate of completion. Any "free Udemy certificate" offer usually means a temporary coupon on a paid course.
How Employers View a Free AI Certification
Free certificates work best as evidence of initiative rather than proof of job-ready skill.
- Employers want AI skills: in the Microsoft and LinkedIn 2024 Work Trend Index, 75% of Indian leaders said they would not hire someone without AI skills, and 80% said they would rather hire a less experienced candidate with AI skills than a more experienced one without them.
- Profiles are getting crowded: the same report found a 142x increase globally in LinkedIn members adding AI skills such as Copilot and ChatGPT to their profiles. Listing "AI" alone no longer stands out.
- AI skills pay: PwC's 2025 Global AI Jobs Barometer found that jobs requiring AI skills carry an average 56% wage premium globally.
- India is hiring fast: India had the highest year-on-year AI hiring growth in 2024, at 33.4%, according to the Stanford AI Index 2025 as reported by Tele.net.
- Enrolment is not proficiency: Coursera's Global Skills Report 2025 showed India leading the world with over 2.6 million GenAI enrolments, yet ranking 89th globally for skills proficiency, as reported by Business Today.
Millions of Indians hold the same free certificates. What separates candidates is what they built with the knowledge.
| Signal to a recruiter | Free completion certificate | Vendor certification (AWS, Microsoft) | Trainer-led certification with projects |
| Shows interest in AI | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Proves you finished a course | Yes | Not required | Yes |
| Independently tested under exam conditions | No | Yes | Depends on the course |
| Shows you can apply AI to a real problem | Rarely | Partly | Yes, through graded projects |
| Gives you an expert to learn from | No | No | Yes |
| Usual cost | Free | Exam fee | Course fee |
How to Display Free AI Certificates on LinkedIn and Your CV
A certificate that nobody can verify, or that is labelled wrongly, does more harm than good.
On LinkedIn:
- Go to your profile, choose "Add profile section", then "Licenses and certifications".
- Enter the exact name, for example "Generative AI Fundamentals skill badge".
- Enter the issuing organisation exactly as the provider does (Google, IBM SkillsBuild, University of Helsinki, Government of India).
- Add the issue date and the credential ID or verification URL. For Credly badges, paste the public badge link.
- Add two or three skills from the course, such as "Prompt Engineering" or "Machine Learning".
- Write a short post about one thing you built or learned, with a project link.
On your CV:
- Create a section called "Certifications and Courses" and keep true certifications separate from completion certificates.
- Use the format: course name, provider, month and year, verification link.
- Add one line on what you did, for example "Built a house price model in Python as part of Kaggle Intro to Machine Learning".
- List no more than four or five AI certificates relevant to the role.
- Pair them with a GitHub or portfolio link. Our machine learning explainer and guide to large language models are good refreshers before you describe projects in an interview.
Red Flags and Fake AI Certificate Scams
The demand for AI certificates has created a market for fake ones. Watch for these signs.
- "Free course, pay only for the certificate" from an unknown site: legitimate providers state the fee upfront on an official domain. Check that the website is the provider's official one, such as Elements of AI, Google Skills or NPTEL.
- "Government certified" claims from private sites: genuine government options are on official portals such as FutureSkills Prime, SWAYAM, iGOT Karmayogi or DIKSHA. A logo on a private website proves nothing.
- "Google certified" or "OpenAI certified" for a short video course: Google AI Essentials is paid, and OpenAI says its Academy certificates are not certifications.
- Certificates without verification: a real badge or certificate has a credential ID or a public verification link.
- Pressure tactics: countdown banners and "last seats" claims on a self-paced course.
- Requests for unusual payments or personal documents: never pay by UPI to an individual's account for a certificate, and share ID documents only on official exam portals such as NPTEL's.
- Guaranteed job or placement claims: no free certificate guarantees a job.
If you cannot find the course on the provider's official site, it is not real.
Picking the Right Free AI Certificate by Goal
Choose one or two certificates that match your goal, rather than collecting ten.
| Your goal | Start with | Then add |
| Understand AI with no coding | Elements of AI or YUVA AI for All | Google Generative AI Fundamentals badge |
| Use AI tools better at work | OpenAI Academy Foundations pathway | Google Prompt Design in Agent Platform badge |
| Become a data analyst or data scientist | Kaggle Learn Python and Pandas | Kaggle Intro to Machine Learning, then an NPTEL ML course |
| Become an AI or ML engineer | Kaggle Python, then CS50 AI | NPTEL Introduction to Machine Learning |
| Get a vendor certification for cloud roles | AWS free Exam Prep Plan | AWS Certified AI Practitioner exam |
| Work in a Microsoft environment | Microsoft Learn and the free practice assessment | AI-901 exam |
| Earn academic credit as a student | NPTEL course in your branch | A second NPTEL course next semester |
| Lead teams or manage projects | IBM SkillsBuild AI Fundamentals | A trainer-led AI course for leaders |
If you are starting from scratch and want a week-by-week plan, follow our AI course for beginners roadmap. If you are aiming for a technical role, our guide on how to become an AI engineer covers the full route, and our best free AI tools list will help you practise along the way.
When to Move From a Free AI Certificate to Trainer-Led Certification
Free courses are excellent for foundations but fall short when you need feedback, a structured timeline or help applying AI to your job. Consider a trainer-led programme when:
- You have finished two or three free courses but still cannot build something on your own.
- Your employer wants a structured certificate tied to a specific role, such as AI for project management or data science.
- You keep starting self-paced courses and not finishing them, and a live batch would keep you accountable.
- You want graded projects to discuss in interviews.
Before interviews, practise with our data science interview questions with answers.
Recommended SimpliAxis AI Courses
- AI career track: Artificial Intelligence Certification Training covers machine learning, deep learning, NLP and computer vision, with a SimpliAxis completion certificate.
- Gentle start with a trainer: Introduction to AI and ML Certification Training is a beginner course with no prerequisites, delivered in live online batches.
- Generative AI at work: Introduction to Generative AI and the Prompt Engineering Course build practical generative AI skills.
- Coding foundations: Python Training and Data Science with Python Training build the coding skills technical AI roles expect.
- Builders and developers: Agentic AI Engineering with Claude Training covers RAG, agents and deployment.
- Agile and project leaders: Certified Artificial Intelligence for Agile Leaders applies AI to Agile teams.
- Governance and compliance: Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional training suits professionals responsible for AI risk and policy.
Call to action: Start building your AI foundations today with a free self-paced SimpliAxis course and earn a digital completion certificate. Create your free account and start learning.























